How to make a vorpal blade part 1

The Vorpal Blade is going to take a little longer than I thought so I’ll do this in a few posts. The bade I’m making is an exaggerated oversize version of Alice’s Vorpal Blade.

I found a plastic fancy dress pirate knife that had the blade shape I was looking for.
20120827-114107.jpg
I started by cutting off the skull top on the handle and getting some black foam from an old mouse mat.

20120827-114324.jpg

20120827-114331.jpg
I glued this foam around the handle using a hot glue gun.

20120827-114428.jpg
To make the shaped end of the handle I used some thicker foam and cut out the shape wanted a few times and stuck these together using the glue gun.

20120827-114555.jpg
I then attached this shape to the end of the handle with more glue.

20120827-114643.jpg
I am going to use a heat gun to smooth off the shape and the seal with PVA before spray painting black, then adding gold detail. I’ll let you know how this goes when I get my hands on a heat gun.

Leave a Reply

