How to make a skull brooch

Well my love affair with air drying clay continues. To make a skull brooch for the bow at the back of the apron I moulded the clay into a skull shape. I scored the back so the brooch clasps would stick on better.

20120826-113155.jpg
I then let it dry, this took forever! I waited a few days and then got impatient and put it in the oven on a very low heat for a few minutes to finish it off. I then painted the detail on using black watercolour paint.

20120826-113432.jpg
I then glued two brooch clasps on the back with superglue.

20120826-113654.jpg
When the clasps were dry and stuck on solid I coated the brooch with clear varnish and voila!

20120826-113809.jpg

Leave a Reply

